Multiplayer Hub Logo  
  Powered by Noble Master Games, http://www.noblemaster.com Multiplayer Dragon
  Forums Twitter Dev. Blog ⊕  
Home > Forums

MultiplayerHub.com
» Forums|New Posts
» Twitter
» Dev. Blog
» About
» Contact Us
Showcase
» Age of Conquest
» Demise of Nations
» Retro Commander

































Multiplayer Forums


Board index » Games » Age of Conquest (AOC) » AOC: Modding Discussions & Workshop


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Rome Total War Map
PostPosted: 10 Jan 2013, 21:08 
Investigator
Investigator
User avatar

Joined: 06 Jul 2008, 18:23
Posts: 3831
Location: Planet Earth, most of the time.
It has been brought to my attention that Vacalam has uploaded a map, called "Rome Total War", which still has the trademarks on the map of a computer game by the same name. I think noblemaster should take a look at this and perhaps delete the map before Sega takes legal action over their Trademark and map being used.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rome Total War Map
PostPosted: 10 Jan 2013, 23:42 
Uber Moderator
Uber Moderator
User avatar

Joined: 26 Dec 2007, 23:22
Posts: 3363
Yeah... probably so!

_________________
This is the internet! Doesn't mean you are required to be an ***.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rome Total War Map
PostPosted: 16 Jan 2013, 19:49 
Game Developer
Game Developer
User avatar

Joined: 17 Apr 2005, 02:34
Posts: 8414
Location: Honolulu
I have deleted the map!

Generally, I couldn't find any Total War map images matching with the uploaded map!? I might be wrong. Please note that using the "Total War" logos is definitely a no-go! Also, I believe the name "Total War" is protected if I am not mistaken.

I am not sure if it is an offense but better safe then sorry! If the creator of the map (who?) can get permission from Sega (?), then obviously it's no problem. Otherwise let's not go try infringing on copyrights etc.

_________________
play: Age of Conquest IV


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rome Total War Map
PostPosted: 22 Jan 2013, 02:38 
Serf
Serf

Joined: 22 Jan 2013, 02:34
Posts: 3
Hello, it's me Vacalam, i'm french so my english is bad
First time, im sorry for the problem. I dont no it is a big problem for play with map
So i dont know ask autorisation of sega for use this map

but i can only change name no ?
or how to apply for permission ?
Thanks

And i'm sorry.

Cordially


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rome Total War Map
PostPosted: 22 Jan 2013, 19:12 
Game Developer
Game Developer
User avatar

Joined: 17 Apr 2005, 02:34
Posts: 8414
Location: Honolulu
Sorry I had to remove the map, looked fun. Legally though I am in dangerous waters if I allow it!

Asking for permission might not be that difficult, but getting approval by Sega might be a completely different story. If you want to try, you could contact their customer service (I assume you are a Total War Customer!) and ask them if it is alright/what is needed to get permission.
https://segaofamerica.zendesk.com/anony ... quests/new
I would suggest, submit some screenshots too, so they know how it will be used.

If you don't get approval/want to upload your map now, please do the following:
1. remove all Sega/Total War logos/trademarks etc.
2. The map image (background) you used is from Total War Rome I assume? If that's the case, make sure you change the image to something else, where you have permission to use it.
3. name: I think leaving "Rome Total War" might be OK, but better change it to be on the safe side. You can mention the map is based on Rome Total War in the description.

_________________
play: Age of Conquest IV


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rome Total War Map
PostPosted: 22 Jan 2013, 22:39 
Serf
Serf

Joined: 22 Jan 2013, 02:34
Posts: 3
ok, i try to send a request with 3 screen and i wait a answer.
Thanks you for you help ! :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rome Total War Map
PostPosted: 23 Jan 2013, 04:02 
Game Developer
Game Developer
User avatar

Joined: 17 Apr 2005, 02:34
Posts: 8414
Location: Honolulu
Great! Please let us know how the respond! I am curious :kg:

_________________
play: Age of Conquest IV


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rome Total War Map
PostPosted: 23 Jan 2013, 07:24 
Serf
Serf

Joined: 22 Jan 2013, 02:34
Posts: 3
yes, no problem but now i wait a answer :s x)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rome Total War Map
PostPosted: 23 Jan 2013, 18:03 
Investigator
Investigator
User avatar

Joined: 06 Jul 2008, 18:23
Posts: 3831
Location: Planet Earth, most of the time.
I'm curious too. Good luck.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
cron

Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Green Smilies by http://www.greensmilies.com/

Home  |  Forums  |  Twitter  |  Dev. Blog  |  About  |  Contact