Multiplayer Hub Logo  
  Powered by Noble Master Games, http://www.noblemaster.com Multiplayer Dragon
  Forums Twitter Dev. Blog ⊕  
Home > Forums

MultiplayerHub.com
» Forums|New Posts
» Twitter
» Dev. Blog
» About
» Contact Us
Showcase
» Age of Conquest
» Demise of Nations
» Retro Commander

































Multiplayer Forums


Board index » Games » Demise of Nations (DON) » DON: Modding Discussions & Workshop


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 66 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Few questions on modding
PostPosted: 31 May 2015, 20:02 
Investigator
Investigator
User avatar

Joined: 06 Jul 2008, 18:23
Posts: 3782
Location: Planet Earth, most of the time.
noblemaster wrote:
Quote:
I guess Vassals. I think it was called protectorate in game. I could be wrong, I've only seen it once or twice..
Yes, it's called protectorate.

I thought I saw in a DoN post about something about Vassals. So my question is does DoN have both Vassals and Protectorate or did I miss read something or did someone misspoke in their post?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Few questions on modding
PostPosted: 31 May 2015, 20:41 
Game Developer
Game Developer
User avatar

Joined: 17 Apr 2005, 02:34
Posts: 8148
Location: Honolulu
It's the same thing, I just didn't call it "Vassals". I didn't think "Vassals" existed until the middle-ages, so I figured I call it "Protectorate". However, I might be wrong on that one? :???:

_________________
play: Age of Conquest IV


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Few questions on modding
PostPosted: 03 Jun 2015, 06:09 
Investigator
Investigator
User avatar

Joined: 06 Jul 2008, 18:23
Posts: 3782
Location: Planet Earth, most of the time.
I think you might be right from a time line point of view. I just wanted a clarification for my understanding. "Protectorate" works for me. :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Few questions on modding
PostPosted: 03 Jun 2015, 17:43 
Peasant
Peasant

Joined: 18 May 2015, 01:57
Posts: 67
An idea that maybe is possible.. For decrees let them boost any of the citiy stats (ie tax income, Commerce, Military skill) + the outputs of the city.. An maintain the effect for multiple turns..

So for a little bit of every resource.. You could hold a trade show for x turns that boosts commerce..

Or invest money to promote home gardens.. to make the city produce some food every turn for x turns..

For military skill perhaps it can only be used every 25 turns or so, but its like.. Train youths, and for that turn only you could get an extra 5% skill on produced units..

I am not sure exactly what to use this for, but having it available to use would be nice I'm sure..


Also what does:

needsPlacementLand=n

Mean under estates?


Can we add or change the upgrades in the module? (Like the defense/offense one)..


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Few questions on modding
PostPosted: 03 Jun 2015, 17:48 
Game Developer
Game Developer
User avatar

Joined: 17 Apr 2005, 02:34
Posts: 8148
Location: Honolulu
Quote:
needsPlacementLand

For 'y' it means an "estate" can only be built in a city (non-harbor).

Quote:
needsPlacementAqua

For 'y' it means an "estate" can only be built in a harbor.

_________________
play: Age of Conquest IV


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Few questions on modding
PostPosted: 11 Jun 2015, 03:45 
Peasant
Peasant

Joined: 18 May 2015, 01:57
Posts: 67
I want to make a new city type that is basically just a village with better stats.

I understand how to do this and have it work fine but what I want to know is can I set the cities production manually with out a building or anything?

Like can you make it so the city generates 10% commerce by default, before any buildings? Or set default outputs?

I tried to use the out: line but you can only output a single thing using this and it isn't the cities production, it just makes it like a resource tile (understandably)..


I guess is there an output= type feature to set all the starting parameters for output and one for the advance= for the advancements for schema's?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Few questions on modding
PostPosted: 11 Jun 2015, 15:29 
Peasant
Peasant

Joined: 31 May 2015, 06:54
Posts: 52
Question: Is it possible to create new types of terrain or climate?

It would be a very useful feature if terrain/climate types could be created and edited, so that storms, temperature, etc. can be changed. That way if I wanted an extreme, dry desert and an extremely cold, wet polar region I could do that.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Few questions on modding
PostPosted: 11 Jun 2015, 16:32 
Game Developer
Game Developer
User avatar

Joined: 17 Apr 2005, 02:34
Posts: 8148
Location: Honolulu
Quote:
Like can you make it so the city generates 10% commerce by default, before any buildings? Or set default outputs?

That's currently not possible. However, you could have one building in the city that always produces e.g. 100 gold output/turn. You could make it a city-building that could neither be built/destroyed.

Quote:
Is it possible to create new types of terrain or climate?

Sorry, that's currently not possible. There are tons of variables that I simply made some of them fixed, e.g. climate/tiles.

For climate, if you want to make a very cold area: Polar is actually quite cold!

_________________
play: Age of Conquest IV


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Few questions on modding
PostPosted: 11 Jun 2015, 16:56 
Peasant
Peasant

Joined: 18 May 2015, 01:57
Posts: 67
noblemaster wrote:
That's currently not possible. However, you could have one building in the city that always produces e.g. 100 gold output/turn. You could make it a city-building that could neither be built/destroyed.


What tag do I use to make it non-buildable?

Do I just set these:
needsPlacementLand=
needsPlacementAqua=

To no?

Or is there another tag not listed on the wiki (which btw has estate listed twice)?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Few questions on modding
PostPosted: 11 Jun 2015, 18:45 
Game Developer
Game Developer
User avatar

Joined: 17 Apr 2005, 02:34
Posts: 8148
Location: Honolulu
You can restrict the building via invents:
http://www.demiseofnations.com/wiki/moddingfaq

Then just pre-assign the building to the city/harbor.

Quote:
Or is there another tag not listed on the wiki (which btw has estate listed twice)?
No, I believe I listed all the tags.

_________________
play: Age of Conquest IV


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Few questions on modding
PostPosted: 12 Jun 2015, 04:53 
Peasant
Peasant

Joined: 31 May 2015, 06:54
Posts: 52
Would it be possible for you to update the wiki to say a little bit about how it puts the sound and image files together. It seems straight forward but then it adds images, and the animations are really confusing. I don't need it to be all inclusive now, but just enough to figure out what is going on. :kg:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Few questions on modding
PostPosted: 12 Jun 2015, 16:46 
Peasant
Peasant

Joined: 31 May 2015, 06:54
Posts: 52
noblemaster wrote:
Quote:
Is it possible to create new types of terrain or climate?

Sorry, that's currently not possible. There are tons of variables that I simply made some of them fixed, e.g. climate/tiles.

For climate, if you want to make a very cold area: Polar is actually quite cold!


However, you can change scenery in the module.config file. How do you put new types of scenery on the map? I understand I can place the type in the bundle.config but what about make a place where it is build-able?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Few questions on modding
PostPosted: 12 Jun 2015, 20:12 
Game Developer
Game Developer
User avatar

Joined: 17 Apr 2005, 02:34
Posts: 8148
Location: Honolulu
Good point, I added the specs: http://www.demiseofnations.com/wiki/moduleconfigassets

I hope it all makes sense? Let me know if you need more?

Quote:
How do you put new types of scenery on the map? I understand I can place the type in the bundle.config but what about make a place where it is build-able?

Not so sure what you mean? You are referring to bridge/harbor construction sites for example? You could do that via "nature". Then tell a harbor/bridge/city only be buildable if the corresponding nature is available.

_________________
play: Age of Conquest IV


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Few questions on modding
PostPosted: 13 Jun 2015, 06:35 
Peasant
Peasant

Joined: 31 May 2015, 06:54
Posts: 52
noblemaster wrote:
Not so sure what you mean? You are referring to bridge/harbor construction sites for example? You could do that via "nature". Then tell a harbor/bridge/city only be buildable if the corresponding nature is available.


I mean I understand how to make new types of nature. But how do I put them on to the map? The map bundle legend only has the types of nature that come with the game, and I don't see any way to place new types of nature on the map. I know how to make a harbor or bridge available on a certain type of nature, I just don't know how to make that certain type of nature available if I didn't make it.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Few questions on modding
PostPosted: 13 Jun 2015, 16:16 
Game Developer
Game Developer
User avatar

Joined: 17 Apr 2005, 02:34
Posts: 8148
Location: Honolulu
It's pretty simple:

1. define the new nature in module.config: add a new "nature:..."

2. edit the "bundle_scenario_nature.png". Use the ID#-colors given in the LEGEND.png to place the nature in that PNG file. It's the same ID#-colors you used for nations, but this time use it for natures.

I hope that makes sense?

_________________
play: Age of Conquest IV


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 66 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
cron

Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Green Smilies by http://www.greensmilies.com/

Home  |  Forums  |  Twitter  |  Dev. Blog  |  About  |  Contact