Multiplayer Hub Logo  
  Powered by Noble Master Games, http://www.noblemaster.com Multiplayer Dragon
  Forums Twitter Dev. Blog ⊕  
Home > Forums

MultiplayerHub.com
» Forums|New Posts
» Twitter
» Dev. Blog
» About
» Contact Us
Showcase
» Age of Conquest
» Demise of Nations
» Retro Commander

































Multiplayer Forums


Board index » Games » Demise of Nations (DON) » DON: Modding Discussions & Workshop


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 66 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Few questions on modding
PostPosted: 25 May 2015, 21:56 
Game Developer
Game Developer
User avatar

Joined: 17 Apr 2005, 02:34
Posts: 8325
Location: Honolulu
Quote:
An the ability to define a different "nation map" for a given scenario.. (I might of said earlier I can't remember)..

So if I wanted to have a second scenario using the same map, but a different nation layout you wouldn't need two different bundles to do it.

I am not sure if that's what you mean, but you can already do that:

simply copy the whole "scenario:"-section in bundle.config to create another scenario. You can change it any way you like. Something like:
Code:
bundle-scenario-list:
  # Scenario 1
  bundle-scenario: bundle_scenario Three_Kingdoms_200BC
    ...
  bundle-scenario-end!

  # Scenario 2
  bundle-scenario: bundle_scenarioNew Three_Kingdoms_131AD
    ...
  bundle-scenario-end!
bundle-scenario-list-end!


You can add as many additional scenarios as you like!

_________________
play: Age of Conquest IV


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Few questions on modding
PostPosted: 26 May 2015, 03:28 
Peasant
Peasant

Joined: 18 May 2015, 01:57
Posts: 67
I see now, So basically you would have double everything with bundle_scenario in its name and rename it bundle_scenario2_whatever..

I didn't know that's what " bundle_scenario" did in that line.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Few questions on modding
PostPosted: 27 May 2015, 10:37 
Peasant
Peasant

Joined: 18 May 2015, 01:57
Posts: 67
I was wondering what these ones are for:

Code:
      # Parameters for Pines/Palms
      flora:
      
      # Population Parameters
      folks:
      
      # Happiness Parameters
      emots:
      
      # Revolt Parameters
      riots:
      
      # Incicents Parameters
      occur:
      
      # Inquiry Parameters
      query:
      
      # Income Parameters
      money:


I can sorta guess for some of them but I don't see any info on the wiki..

Also how do I use this:

Code:
      # Global Temperature/Humidity (warming/cooling parameters and droughts)
      cycle: droughtRemain=0


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Few questions on modding
PostPosted: 27 May 2015, 20:43 
Game Developer
Game Developer
User avatar

Joined: 17 Apr 2005, 02:34
Posts: 8325
Location: Honolulu
Quote:
I didn't know that's what " bundle_scenario" did in that line.

I fixed up the documentation (although too late for you). It's a lot to write, so I haven't gotten to everything yet:
http://www.demiseofnations.com/wiki/bun ... &#scenario

Quote:
...cycle...

Added: http://www.demiseofnations.com/wiki/bun ... ig?&#cycle

I hope it makes sense!

Quote:
# Parameters for Pines/Palms
flora:

# Population Parameters
folks:

# Happiness Parameters
emots:

# Revolt Parameters
riots:

# Incicents Parameters
occur:

# Inquiry Parameters
query:

# Income Parameters
money:

Those are some parameters that I feel aren't that good yet, so there is currently no documentation. Please let me play around it with some more and then add documentation.

Those are basic population growth, likelyhood of incidents revolt-levels etc...

_________________
play: Age of Conquest IV


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Few questions on modding
PostPosted: 28 May 2015, 03:49 
Peasant
Peasant

Joined: 18 May 2015, 01:57
Posts: 67
noblemaster wrote:
Quote:
I didn't know that's what " bundle_scenario" did in that line.

I fixed up the documentation (although too late for you). It's a lot to write, so I haven't gotten to everything yet:
http://www.demiseofnations.com/wiki/bun ... &#scenario

Quote:
...cycle...

Added: http://www.demiseofnations.com/wiki/bun ... ig?&#cycle

I hope it makes sense!

Quote:
# Parameters for Pines/Palms
flora:

# Population Parameters
folks:

# Happiness Parameters
emots:

# Revolt Parameters
riots:

# Incicents Parameters
occur:

# Inquiry Parameters
query:

# Income Parameters
money:

Those are some parameters that I feel aren't that good yet, so there is currently no documentation. Please let me play around it with some more and then add documentation.

Those are basic population growth, likelyhood of incidents revolt-levels etc...


Alright I can see what mose of the cycle ones do, but in the starter bundle it uses

"droughtRemain=" which isn't listed.. Is this just the min-max turns combind in to one or an old tag?


and alright on that other stuff.. Today I will try to find good storm numbers to help the long lack of ground water I have on my map..

200 turns of 25% farms isn't right I don't think..


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Few questions on modding
PostPosted: 28 May 2015, 05:50 
Game Developer
Game Developer
User avatar

Joined: 17 Apr 2005, 02:34
Posts: 8325
Location: Honolulu
droughtRemain: I have forgotten to add that (it's in there now). That was in a different section in the config.

If the game shall start off with a drought, "droughtRemain" states the remaining turns for that drought.

Quote:
200 turns of 25% farms isn't right I don't think..

What do you mean?

_________________
play: Age of Conquest IV


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Few questions on modding
PostPosted: 28 May 2015, 06:12 
Peasant
Peasant

Joined: 18 May 2015, 01:57
Posts: 67
noblemaster wrote:
Quote:
200 turns of 25% farms isn't right I don't think..

What do you mean?


If my map, certain farms will just stay at 25% for the entire game..

After doing rain tests though I think its the climate that is doing it - changing my climates fixed this. but still figuring out how many rains I need to keep a steady supply of ground water to most of the map and.. seeing how long it takes to recuperate from a map wide drought..

Leads to a suggest on drought though.. Rather then the droughts reducing ground water ot 0 in a single turn, have it increase water evaporate-rate by like x2 or something.. This way its not an instant change, and droughts of different lengths have different effects..


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Few questions on modding
PostPosted: 28 May 2015, 06:28 
Game Developer
Game Developer
User avatar

Joined: 17 Apr 2005, 02:34
Posts: 8325
Location: Honolulu
Maybe it shouldn't just be rain? I can adjust the evaporate rates etc. as well. What climate zones did you test and how do you think should they be adjusted?

_________________
play: Age of Conquest IV


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Few questions on modding
PostPosted: 30 May 2015, 03:51 
Peasant
Peasant

Joined: 18 May 2015, 01:57
Posts: 67
New questions..

Can a nation start as a protectorate of another one?

If you play as a protectorate state can you rebel? Will the AI rebel?

If two nations are protectorates of the same nation.. Will they fight each other?


And how do the leagues work? are they just for team modes?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Few questions on modding
PostPosted: 30 May 2015, 17:25 
Investigator
Investigator
User avatar

Joined: 06 Jul 2008, 18:23
Posts: 3828
Location: Planet Earth, most of the time.
When you're talking about protectorate, are you referring to Vassals?

There is still a lot of work that needs to be done on the AI. At this time the AI can not rebel but a player could.

Yes two players could be at war with each and both being vassals to the same lord.

The League is for tournament/League competition. Not general game play. Implying prizes will be award and a moderator will oversee and specify the rules or conditions for joining and playing within the league.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Few questions on modding
PostPosted: 30 May 2015, 17:52 
Peasant
Peasant

Joined: 18 May 2015, 01:57
Posts: 67
fodder wrote:
When you're talking about protectorate, are you referring to Vassals?

There is still a lot of work that needs to be done on the AI. At this time the AI can not rebel but a player could.

Yes two players could be at war with each and both being vassals to the same lord.

The League is for tournament/League competition. Not general game play. Implying prizes will be award and a moderator will oversee and specify the rules or conditions for joining and playing within the league.


I guess Vassals. I think it was called protectorate in game. I could be wrong, I've only seen it once or twice..

The AI not rebelling but players being able to would be fine for what I wanted to use it for.

Do Vassals's count as your land?.. As in if the victory condition is "Conqueror all cities".. And you owned all but the nation(s) you have as Vassals.. Do you win?

For some context.. My idea is.. because I don't want to leave the maps like 50% empty I am adding in factions who didn't actually play a big role in the current event of the scenario but (from what I can find..) might or were still there...

For a specific faction he technically owns a bunch of cities but he dies and these cities eventually break off and do there own thing.. So having them as protectorates makes it so they are his but still are there own nation (so a player could pick them, and rebel).

And ok on the league, I was hoping it was like a permanent alliance system.. where if one team meet the victory conditions you won..


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Few questions on modding
PostPosted: 30 May 2015, 18:21 
Game Developer
Game Developer
User avatar

Joined: 17 Apr 2005, 02:34
Posts: 8325
Location: Honolulu
Quote:
I guess Vassals. I think it was called protectorate in game. I could be wrong, I've only seen it once or twice..
Yes, it's called protectorate.

Quote:
Do Vassals's count as your land?.. As in if the victory condition is "Conqueror all cities".. And you owned all but the nation(s) you have as Vassals.. Do you win?
They currently don't count as your land.

Quote:
For some context.. My idea is.. because I don't want to leave the maps like 50% empty I am adding in factions who didn't actually play a big role in the current event of the scenario but (from what I can find..) might or were still there...

You can set the "open=n" option for "actor:" in bundle.config to make the nation a dedicated AI-nation.

Quote:
And ok on the league, I was hoping it was like a permanent alliance system.. where if one team meet the victory conditions you won..
The "league" is a permanent group. It generally makes sense for everyone to be allied with each other, although the system doesn't forbid group-members to be at war with each other.

_________________
play: Age of Conquest IV


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Few questions on modding
PostPosted: 31 May 2015, 06:17 
Peasant
Peasant

Joined: 18 May 2015, 01:57
Posts: 67
Alright on those points, I think the locking human players could be used probably.. If I wanna force specific story factions to be played (but I'll think about it). Thanks.

Still can I start a faction as a protectorate atm? like diplos=p:1 or something? Or not atm?

Also I get a new bundle error while adding a third scenario.. but I re-ordered the scenario order (As I wanna add them so they list in historical order).. So this one comes before my last ones in the list..


Error at bundle(scenario).config (line#347):1

And I can't again figure out what I did wrong..

This is the bundle currently:

http://www.mediafire.com/download/mstlc ... ngdoms.zip

Edit:

After leaving it for most of today, I notice a few mistakes + some possible mistakes.. As I put the diplos= stuff like... diplos=a:1,2,3,4,5 etc.. I am not sure if that is allowed but I switched it all to do .. diplos=a:1,a:2 etc.. and I also had them at war with 29.. when it should of been 17 (I was think nation number not actor number.. for whatever reason)..

But now it works so that was the issue..

Still an area the bundle thing doesn't give a good error report.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Few questions on modding
PostPosted: 31 May 2015, 17:19 
Game Developer
Game Developer
User avatar

Joined: 17 Apr 2005, 02:34
Posts: 8325
Location: Honolulu
I found the problem. The following does not work:

Code:
diplos=a:2,3,7,10,11,12,13,16,21,26 w:29

Code:
diplos=a:1,2,3,10,11,12,13,16,21,26 diplos=w:29


Instead, you need to write it e.g. as follows:
Code:
diplos=a:2,a:3,a:7,a:10,w:29

Basically, (1) there can be no spaces ' ', (2) each reference needs to be prepended with 'a:', 'w:' and (3) "diplos=" can only appear once (not twice).

_________________
play: Age of Conquest IV


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Few questions on modding
PostPosted: 31 May 2015, 17:21 
Game Developer
Game Developer
User avatar

Joined: 17 Apr 2005, 02:34
Posts: 8325
Location: Honolulu
Quote:
Still can I start a faction as a protectorate atm? like diplos=p:1 or something? Or not atm?

Not yet, but I'll add it for the next update! :kg:

_________________
play: Age of Conquest IV


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 66 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:

Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Green Smilies by http://www.greensmilies.com/

Home  |  Forums  |  Twitter  |  Dev. Blog  |  About  |  Contact