Multiplayer Hub Logo  
  Powered by Noble Master Games, http://www.noblemaster.com Multiplayer Dragon
  Forums Twitter Dev. Blog ⊕  
Home > Forums

MultiplayerHub.com
» Forums|New Posts
» Twitter
» Dev. Blog
» About
» Contact Us
Showcase
» Age of Conquest
» Demise of Nations
» Retro Commander

































Multiplayer Forums


Board index » Games » Age of Conquest (AOC) » AOC: Technical Support


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 36 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: mac mountain lion java update problem
PostPosted: 20 Oct 2012, 07:24 
Peasant
Peasant

Joined: 28 Mar 2011, 14:55
Posts: 21
I updated mountain lion OS with latest java update. Now AOC won't open.
I did this on both my desktop and laptop with same result.
Any suggestions?
:hilfe:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: mac mountain lion java update problem
PostPosted: 20 Oct 2012, 11:42 
Knight
Knight
User avatar

Joined: 23 Feb 2012, 17:45
Posts: 1219
buy a pc :roll:

_________________
The One True Howard

R.I.P.

2008 - 2018


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: mac mountain lion java update problem
PostPosted: 20 Oct 2012, 14:23 
Knight
Knight
User avatar

Joined: 12 Jul 2007, 15:10
Posts: 2212
Location: Aevum Obscurum
Howie, shut up. Apple disabled Java on purpose. It's becoming a huge security issue for everyone. So yes... buy a PC and get infected. ;)

I was just about to post here that Java is now disabled, but I see that I was beaten to it. For users that have Lion and Mountain Lion, you'll need to click on the "More Info" button which will take you to http://www.java.com/en/download/mac_download.jsp. From here, download Java 7 and install it. It will re-download AoC and ask that you verify the security certificate.

However, I'm not finding a bug between AoC and Java 7. When you try to click on the Username box, you're not able to. In fact, the cursor ends up in the Password box for me. If I click above the Username box, about the same distance that's between the Username and Password boxes, I'm able to put the cursor within the Username box. I'm not sure if this is just happening to me or if others will experience this, but resizing the window seems to fix this behavior. The same happens to the Login button. They all seem to be slightly off. I haven't tried clicking around after logging in, but I'm guessing it will continue.

_________________
Image

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: mac mountain lion java update problem
PostPosted: 20 Oct 2012, 16:56 
Knight
Knight
User avatar

Joined: 23 Feb 2012, 17:45
Posts: 1219
don't hate me cuz my "infected pc" works better than a mac :p

_________________
The One True Howard

R.I.P.

2008 - 2018


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: mac mountain lion java update problem
PostPosted: 21 Oct 2012, 02:11 
Knight
Knight
User avatar

Joined: 12 Jul 2007, 15:10
Posts: 2212
Location: Aevum Obscurum
I hate you for you.

_________________
Image

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: mac mountain lion java update problem
PostPosted: 21 Oct 2012, 03:10 
Knight
Knight
User avatar

Joined: 23 Feb 2012, 17:45
Posts: 1219
:hug:

_________________
The One True Howard

R.I.P.

2008 - 2018


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: mac mountain lion java update problem
PostPosted: 21 Oct 2012, 06:54 
Game Developer
Game Developer
User avatar

Joined: 17 Apr 2005, 02:34
Posts: 8416
Location: Honolulu
Yes, please install Java 7 from http://www.java.com

That should do the trick?

_________________
play: Age of Conquest IV


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: mac mountain lion java update problem
PostPosted: 21 Oct 2012, 07:42 
Peasant
Peasant

Joined: 28 Mar 2011, 14:55
Posts: 21
i have installed java 7 but i get the same strange issues that Imlagging described. the pointer is off by a level and the window will not resize making the game pretty much unplayable.
I assume this is a java 7/apple problem that will eventually get worked out.
I guess for now, I will boot from an older system HD so that i don't have this issue.
I think this will be a problem for all mac users who do the latest mountain lion update.
Other than this one little problem, Howard, macs work great!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: mac mountain lion java update problem
PostPosted: 21 Oct 2012, 07:46 
Peasant
Peasant

Joined: 28 Mar 2011, 14:55
Posts: 21
The problem with java 7 seems actually only to be on my laptop.
I just did the java 7 install on my desktop and it seems to work fine.
Thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: mac mountain lion java update problem
PostPosted: 21 Oct 2012, 08:38 
Peasant
Peasant

Joined: 28 Mar 2011, 14:55
Posts: 21
I spoke too soon.
With Java 7 installed on my laptop, AOC works until you select a specific game to go into and then it hangs, requiring a forced quit.
Can't get past that point even after computer restarts and reinstalls.
Bummer.
:motz:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: mac mountain lion java update problem
PostPosted: 21 Oct 2012, 20:04 
Game Developer
Game Developer
User avatar

Joined: 17 Apr 2005, 02:34
Posts: 8416
Location: Honolulu
See my other post also: Can you set the default Java to Java 6 (Java Preferences/Properties in control panel). That should make the error go away!?

_________________
play: Age of Conquest IV


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: mac mountain lion java update problem
PostPosted: 21 Oct 2012, 20:21 
Peasant
Peasant

Joined: 28 Mar 2011, 14:55
Posts: 21
My java control panel only shows Java 7.
My desktop will launch AOC but hangs once I try to play a game.
Is there someway to also install Java 6?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: mac mountain lion java update problem
PostPosted: 22 Oct 2012, 17:32 
Knight
Knight
User avatar

Joined: 12 Jul 2007, 15:10
Posts: 2212
Location: Aevum Obscurum
I decided to try to see if AoC still plays on Java 7 for my Mac and I'm getting locking up when I'm able to login. I'm also not able to quit the game without doing a Force Quit. I'll see if I can find a way to get Java 6 re-installed.

_________________
Image

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: mac mountain lion java update problem
PostPosted: 22 Oct 2012, 18:31 
Game Developer
Game Developer
User avatar

Joined: 17 Apr 2005, 02:34
Posts: 8416
Location: Honolulu
Java 6 is still installed, it just doesn't show up as soon as you install Java 7 (at least not since the latest Mac OS X update a week ago). I previously spent 2h trying to find a way to use both Java 6+7 at the same time, but it's impossible as of now (to my knowledge).

The only way I got Java 6 back was to uninstall Java 7! I have Mac OS 10.7, but I am sure the same will work on other Mac OS version. Don't worry, you don't need Java 7. Also you can simply re-install it if you need it.

Here is how you uninstall Java 7 & get Java 6 back:
Quote:
open /Library/Java/JavaVirtualMachines/* and delete all the folders/files that are residing inside that "JavaVirtualMachines" folder


That's all. Java 6 should be back in action!? :kg:

_________________
play: Age of Conquest IV


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: mac mountain lion java update problem
PostPosted: 24 Oct 2012, 06:36 
Knight
Knight
User avatar

Joined: 05 Jan 2007, 13:38
Posts: 1117
nope :(

nothing there from before

os x 10.8.2

it is a package at system//Library/Java/JavaVirtualMachines/ called 1.6.0.jdk tho...

aint that the one i want to have?

_________________
he he :D

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 36 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
cron

Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Green Smilies by http://www.greensmilies.com/

Home  |  Forums  |  Twitter  |  Dev. Blog  |  About  |  Contact