Multiplayer Hub Logo  
  Powered by Noble Master Games, http://www.noblemaster.com Multiplayer Dragon
  Forums Twitter Dev. Blog ⊕  
Home > Forums

MultiplayerHub.com
» Forums|New Posts
» Twitter
» Dev. Blog
» About
» Contact Us
Showcase
» Age of Conquest
» Demise of Nations
» Retro Commander

































Multiplayer Forums


Board index » Games » Age of Conquest (AOC) » AOC: Modding Discussions & Workshop


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Map file locations?
PostPosted: 18 Apr 2011, 11:11 
Serf
Serf

Joined: 14 Apr 2011, 09:15
Posts: 17
Hi all; I just registered last week, love the game, and have had a blast making my first map, but have a couple questions. I searched all over the forums first - honest!

1) I've downloaded a few custom maps and then tried to find them so I could study them and then possibly edit them to see how other users are making these cool maps. Can't find 'em anywhere, although oddly enough my executable keeps getting larger: are they actually stored in there? I've seen in the forums mention of .map files in a aevumobscurum (or something like that) folder but it's nowhere to be found. I'm on a Mac, OS 10.4. Can someone point me in the right direction?

2) I'd like to play my map in the regular game and not just in "test" mode in the map editor but don't see a way to do that (so far it's just me vs. the computer; haven't played online yet). Any pointers to get me going here? Some sort of basic modding manual or tutorial would be extremely helpful.

I'm at the mercy of your infinite wisdom...

Da Poch


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Map file locations?
PostPosted: 18 Apr 2011, 12:16 
Knight
Knight
User avatar

Joined: 12 Jul 2007, 15:10
Posts: 2212
Location: Aevum Obscurum
1) The folder that contains the maps is hidden and OS X does a good job of keeping hidden files/folders hidden. From the Map Editor, click on Open and then make sure you're viewing your Home folder. Now press the SHIFT + COMMAND + G keys all at the same time. Type in ".AgeOfConquest" (without the quotes, but with the period and make sure you keep the upper/lower casing that I used) and click Go. From here, just go to the Map folder. All downloaded maps are named "asset_X.data" where X is a number. You'll have to open the asset files one after another until you find the one you're looking for. If it's a map you plan to view multiple times, make sure you remember which number it is so it's easier to find next time.

2) The only way to play the map online is to upload it, then download it via the in game Map Download feature. This will allow anyone to download the map. This will be the only way for others to help you test a map. Just make sure that it's in a good playable condition since if people start using it to play actual games, they'll get annoyed if things don't work right.

_________________
Image

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Map file locations?
PostPosted: 18 Apr 2011, 12:21 
Uber Moderator
Uber Moderator
User avatar

Joined: 26 Dec 2007, 23:22
Posts: 3329
Edit: ImLagging beat me to it.

_________________
This is the internet! Doesn't mean you are required to be an ***.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Map file locations?
PostPosted: 18 Apr 2011, 14:17 
Serf
Serf

Joined: 14 Apr 2011, 09:15
Posts: 17
Thanks so much! I'm on it...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Map file locations?
PostPosted: 18 Apr 2011, 17:28 
Investigator
Investigator
User avatar

Joined: 06 Jul 2008, 18:23
Posts: 3782
Location: Planet Earth, most of the time.
What ImLagging said. You can also enter following command from the command line, (without the quotes): " cd ~/.AgeOfConquest/map ".


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Map file locations?
PostPosted: 19 Apr 2011, 04:49 
Serf
Serf

Joined: 14 Apr 2011, 09:15
Posts: 17
OK, finally got it, but via a different path. I had put AoC in Applications, but even there could not get Cmd-Shift-G to display the hidden folder. I'm guessing that could be because of the spaces in the actual folder name?

Seeing your good old Unix-speak I opened a shell and ran a 'find' for .AgeOfConquest and nothing came up but I now realize it should have been ".Age Of Conquest III.app". Because then a search for "asset_*.data" worked and now I can see where all of the goodies are. Was able to open a map in the app by explicitly typing in the full path.

Thanks a bunch for all of your feedback. I'm still wondering if there is a way to play test the maps either in test mode or in the game (not online) such that I can get the diplomacy, etc. options that come up at runtime.

Either way, I will be posting a test map to the server sometime next week.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Map file locations?
PostPosted: 19 Apr 2011, 06:14 
Serf
Serf
User avatar

Joined: 24 Mar 2011, 23:17
Posts: 19
Location: Poznań, Poland
Quote:
I'm still wondering if there is a way to play test the maps either in test mode or in the game (not online) such that I can get the diplomacy, etc. options that come up at runtime.


Yeah, you can play your map wih your scenarios or even someones map with your scenarios (like I do)
All you need is just a full version of the game on your computer
not an ONLINE version, but AoC III for a single comp ver

_________________
verbum nobile debet esse stabile
nie utrudniaj sobie życia, inni zrobią to za Ciebie


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Map file locations?
PostPosted: 19 Apr 2011, 07:18 
Serf
Serf

Joined: 14 Apr 2011, 09:15
Posts: 17
I do have the full version, not the online version. When I select a scenario and empire in the map editor and then hit "Test", I get a game with easy opponents and no other options. In what I would call the regular or normal game, selecting new game brings up the option box for level of difficulty, domination game vs. standard game, diplomacy, etc. This is the behavior I would like to have when testing a new map.

I guess I just need to tweak the map a bit further and then do the upload to server / download back again routine to be able to see my map in the option box for new game. Saving or copying it to the Contents/Resources/app/data/map directory doesn't work because the saved map hasn't been split out into the .data, .info, and .name files. I assume this is what happens during the upload/download process.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Map file locations?
PostPosted: 19 Apr 2011, 16:47 
Investigator
Investigator
User avatar

Joined: 06 Jul 2008, 18:23
Posts: 3782
Location: Planet Earth, most of the time.
Okay, first off I'm confused with your terminology of full version and online version. AoC III comes in two versions, ONLINE and Single Player. Then there is a free version of each and a paid version of each. I guess you could call the paid version a full version but still, that means there are 2 full versions, ONLINE and Single Player.

So to Summarize:
AoC III ONLINE (Full/paid version)
AoC III ONLINE (free version)
AoC III Single Player (Full/paid version)
AoC III Single Player (free version)

If believe the .map file can be unzipped into the .data, .info, .name files. I think the download does that automatically but you can do it manually too. Hopefully someone will correct me if I'm wrong about that.


Last edited by fodder on 20 Apr 2011, 06:25, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Map file locations?
PostPosted: 19 Apr 2011, 18:13 
Serf
Serf

Joined: 14 Apr 2011, 09:15
Posts: 17
I have AoC III Single Player (Full/paid version).

When I save my own map via the map editor, the file that is saved, to whatever directory I specify, does not have a .map extension. When I download a map from the AoC server, it automatically goes to the map directory and gets split into the .data, .name. and .info files and becomes playable. I'm trying to figure out how to make my own map playable as a regular game and not just in test mode in the map editor.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Map file locations?
PostPosted: 19 Apr 2011, 23:54 
Serf
Serf
User avatar

Joined: 24 Mar 2011, 23:17
Posts: 19
Location: Poznań, Poland
yes, it's no .map file - there are 3 files after saving your map
you put them in map catalog and you should have it in playable maps when starting new game
alternatively you should name the created map "asset_X" when saving
(3 files with automatic extensions made by game's map editor)

if it doesnt work like that - blame differences between Mac and PC

_________________
verbum nobile debet esse stabile
nie utrudniaj sobie życia, inni zrobią to za Ciebie


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Map file locations?
PostPosted: 20 Apr 2011, 19:22 
Serf
Serf

Joined: 14 Apr 2011, 09:15
Posts: 17
Not working like you describe; but thanks very much for the suggestions.

The map is coming along quite nicely and I'll post it soon.

Da Poch


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:

Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Green Smilies by http://www.greensmilies.com/

Home  |  Forums  |  Twitter  |  Dev. Blog  |  About  |  Contact